Treat of the Week: Chleb Wiejski

DSCN2310

I bet you’re wondering what cheleb wiejski is. In simple terms, it’s Polish brown bread.

Bored of your average Joe brown bread, I opted for something different when I went into ASDA last week – nothing to do with the fact it was reduced to 9p… But since then I’ve become a Polish bread convert and enjoy nothing more than a slice of cheleb wiejski toasted with a layer of Vialite and Marmite.

The guys who made this wonderful loaf wanted to bring traditional recipes to the UK so that Polish people aren’t missing out on authentic bready goodness and I am all for trying foods from different cultures.

Have you got a favourite foreign bread? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

