5 low budget vegan meals

The first month of term has flown by which reminds me that this time in a year I will have graduated from university and be looking for a job, ahhh! But for now I can enjoy getting up at noon, going out on weekdays and shopping at Lidl before I enter the world of adulthood. This post is a collection of tried and tested recipes I’ve found on the internet or heard about through the grapevine, click the title to find the recipe.

1. Deliciously Ella sweet potato and chickpea stew

IMG_4680

This was the first ‘proper’ meal I cooked back at uni and it is absolutely delicious. It’s warming and filling and looked so good I put a picture of it on Instagram which Ella herself ‘liked’ (swoon). All the ingredients turned out to be super cheap and I even cut costs by using courgettes rather than aubergines as I found them in the reduced section. The recipe says it serves 4 but I managed to make it into 7 portions, so if you don’t have much spare tupperware I’d suggest halving the recipe.

2. Veg and lentil cottage pie

IMG_4858

My housemate found this recipe on Jamie Oliver’s Food Tube, it’s not a vegan recipe but swap the parmesan cheese for a good melty vegan one and it works just as well. I decided to make a mashed sweet potato topping rather than a grated one and mixed in some Tesco cheddar style spread. I was going to crumble a packet of sweet chilli Sunbites over the top but I forgot I’d already eaten them so crushed up some crackers and sprinkled them on –  not too sure about the results.

 3. Creamy pasta

IMG_4916

If you’ve never tried cashew cream, this sauce will blow you your mind. It’s lovely and garlicky and I was surprised at how much I enjoyed eating tomatoes as I normally don’t like them. The blog I found this on, The Friendly Fig is a really great source of food ideas and general vegan inspiration so check it out while you’re there.

4. Waitrose frosted lemon cake

IMG_4930

While on my weekly shop I saw this cake on one of Waitrose’s recipe cards and when I saw the Alpro logo on it I knew I might be able to make it. Unfortunately I couldn’t justify buying Alpro milk to go in the cake when Lidl soya milk is half the price, so that is why it’s a budget cake. The cake is meant to be baked in a loaf tin but if, like me, you’ve only got a cake tin I’d recommend baking it for 30 minutes instead of 40 to avoid having to cut the burnt sides off – but an all round good cake.

5. Mushroom, broccoli and coconut curry – originally read in Vegan Life

IMG_4965

This recipe caught my eye while I was reading the Vegan Life October issue, it’s full of superfoods and all the ingredients can be bought in Lidl which is a bonus. I swapped kale for extra spinach and cumin seeds or another tsp of ground cumin to save costs and it still had a nice flavour.

Make sure you grab the November issue of Vegan Life because it looks like a good one!

Screen Shot 2015-10-19 at 22.48.46

*Disclaimer: I receive a digital subscription to Vegan Life Mag for free, but all views expressed are my own.

Leave a Reply

