Current cruelty free beauty faves

Hi! Sorry it’s been a while (*ahem* 7 months) since I posted on here but I thought I’d do a little post about the cruelty free makeup I’ve been loving recently. I wouldn’t be writing this if it wasn’t for the fact I left my make up bag on a train a few months ago, nightmare I know, but it gave me a legit reason to buy loads of new makeup so every cloud has a silver lining right?

MUA

DSCN4465

When having to rebuy pretty much all of your makeup (except your Urban Decay Naked palettes thank goodness), foundation and mascara are the essential items you need first. Makeup Academy is a god send for anyone on a budget who wants to smother their face in cruelty free goodness. This foundation was only £2 and as it’s not the exact colour of my skin I have to mix a bit of moisturiser with it, but it makes it easier to apply which is a bonus. I was actually surprised at how good the ‘mega volume mascara’ was, I’d been previously using a Rimmel one (before I found out they test on animals – tut tut) I’d payed £6 for, this one was better and only £3. Just goes to show testing on animals doesn’t improve the quality of products!

Collection & Real Techniques

DSCN4472

DSCN4475

I’d read good things about the Collection contour kit and was pleased that it lived up to expectation, the contour isn’t so dark that it looks obvious on your face and the highlight is slightly shimmery but not over the top. Perfect for an amateur contour-er like me. If you’re after a real glow then the Anastasia Beverly Hills glow kit looks like it delivers amazing results. I apply my contour with brushes from the Real Techniques core collection, using the contour brush for the powder and the buffing brush to blend it out.

Barry M

DSCN4492

I haven’t tried many Barry M products other than their nail varnishes so rather than buying more lipsticks from Rimmel I thought I’d give their new ‘satin super slick lip paint’ range a go. I went for the shade called nuditude, it’s a lovely rose colour and is very moisturising, the only problem is that it’s so creamy that it goes everywhere if you’re not careful so take it easy when applying it. I’ll definitely be buying Barry M lipsticks again and will also get their lip liners to create a more precise look.

Makeup Revolution

DSCN4575DSCN4561

This palette is an oldie but a goodie, I got it last year so I could wear something other than Urban Decay shadows during the day. There’s a range of matte and shimmery colours and I like that there’s some bluey shades for if you’re feeling adventurous. I tend to stick to the browns and golds but you can create loads of different looks with this palette. Makeup Revolution do a whole host of cruelty free makeup so make sure you check them out.

Enough of me waffling, what cruelty brands do you like?

Let me know below!

4 thoughts on “Current cruelty free beauty faves

Leave a Reply

